Proof 1889 P ?

General discussion board about VAMs, but no buy/sell offers
Post Reply
Nile
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2021 9:51 pm

Proof 1889 P ?

Post by Nile » Thu Apr 29, 2021 10:31 pm

Long shot here but noticed a familiar patina to this coin along with possible proof die markers. Take a look tell me what you think.
Attachments
36C8B5B4-30D9-4498-B637-C85F3D9C5526.jpeg
36C8B5B4-30D9-4498-B637-C85F3D9C5526.jpeg (234.64 KiB) Viewed 1662 times
5467BBC8-2C72-4733-8CDB-7AFD1D8325C4.jpeg
5467BBC8-2C72-4733-8CDB-7AFD1D8325C4.jpeg (314.77 KiB) Viewed 1662 times
500E2661-C835-4EDA-8A2C-47BA0397C71E.jpeg
500E2661-C835-4EDA-8A2C-47BA0397C71E.jpeg (410.32 KiB) Viewed 1662 times
B9EDBB56-7C7A-495C-87F8-AAFA4A67F94A.jpeg
B9EDBB56-7C7A-495C-87F8-AAFA4A67F94A.jpeg (415.24 KiB) Viewed 1662 times

Vam-mysterio
Posts: 591
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2018 8:52 pm

Re: Proof 1889 P ?

Post by Vam-mysterio » Thu Apr 29, 2021 10:42 pm

Sorry
Not a proof

User avatar
Albannach
Posts: 73
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2018 5:09 pm

Re: Proof 1889 P ?

Post by Albannach » Thu May 20, 2021 2:11 pm

I'm not seeing the "die marker" and odds are a proof coin isn't going to be found as a clashed die pair.

DHalladay
Posts: 2354
Joined: Wed May 30, 2018 4:38 pm

Re: Proof 1889 P ?

Post by DHalladay » Thu May 20, 2021 2:36 pm

The reverse sure looks like a proof to me.
When in doubt... don't.

VamHelsing
Posts: 822
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2018 5:14 pm
Location: Oregon

Re: Proof 1889 P ?

Post by VamHelsing » Fri May 21, 2021 1:42 am

While I can see your point, looks like a MS coin to me. No fully squared rims and looks like die erosion
along the denticles which would not be present on a proof.

RogerB
Posts: 666
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2019 2:30 pm

Re: Proof 1889 P ?

Post by RogerB » Sun May 23, 2021 3:33 am

"Poof" not "proof."

Post Reply