One Eye

General discussion board about VAMs, but no buy/sell offers
Post Reply
vamnuke
Posts: 790
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2018 11:57 pm

One Eye

Post by vamnuke » Fri Jan 29, 2021 8:51 pm

1878-S VAM 1i that is.

Had the fortune to rescue another unattributed lady stranded out on the 'bay. Top in pop is AU 50, my current is XF details. This one has a shot at eclipsing the top spot if the lady is not impaired; in any event, I'll close the gap on the 78-S SSDC leaders. This one definitely started out as PL. 2021 is starting out well...
1i - 2.jpeg
1i - 2.jpeg (181.02 KiB) Viewed 1967 times
Attachments
1i - 1.jpeg
1i - 1.jpeg (185.57 KiB) Viewed 1967 times

User avatar
ljs123
Posts: 1553
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2018 7:16 pm

Re: One Eye

Post by ljs123 » Sat Jan 30, 2021 2:51 am

Great find

You must have used 2 eyes to find your 1i
🤪
I know, bad joke.

User avatar
vampicker
Posts: 1453
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2018 1:48 pm
Location: Ohio

Re: One Eye

Post by vampicker » Sat Jan 30, 2021 2:59 am

Still need that other obverse! Still, it's a hell of a find.
often the crusher of hopes and dreams

Vam-mysterio
Posts: 590
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2018 8:52 pm

Re: One Eye

Post by Vam-mysterio » Sat Jan 30, 2021 5:39 am

Good eye

bigjayvee
Posts: 440
Joined: Thu May 31, 2018 9:01 am
Location: Florida

Re: One Eye

Post by bigjayvee » Mon Feb 01, 2021 10:05 pm

Great P.U. Clay !!!!! A tough one in any grade and detail !!!!! :D

User avatar
PacificWR
Posts: 1715
Joined: Mon May 28, 2018 12:17 pm
Location: Kansas Flint Hills
Contact:

Re: One Eye

Post by PacificWR » Tue Feb 02, 2021 4:28 am

Nice pick.

vamsterdam
Posts: 1095
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2018 2:48 am

Re: One Eye

Post by vamsterdam » Wed Feb 03, 2021 4:49 pm

i still remember the thrill of finding my first one. the wing gouges were obvious and that clash mark at the eye reminded me of vam 59, and vam 72. leroy shot it down at first but eventually listed it. and someone else on vamworld tried to insinuate that i made it up and that it really didn't exist, except to me. nonetheless, i am happy for you. an awesome coin and a key in the series.

vamnuke
Posts: 790
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2018 11:57 pm

Re: One Eye

Post by vamnuke » Thu Feb 04, 2021 12:00 am

Thanks, Brian; we'll see how it ends up grading, but I think it's a pretty stunning AU.

vamnuke
Posts: 790
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2018 11:57 pm

Re: One Eye

Post by vamnuke » Wed Mar 24, 2021 12:04 am

PCGS notified me of grade; AU 50, which I think will tie for top in pop; thought it had a shot at AU 53, but not to be...

keydates
Posts: 189
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2018 1:36 pm

Re: One Eye

Post by keydates » Wed Mar 24, 2021 1:53 am

What vam is it?
Thanks larry

vamnuke
Posts: 790
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2018 11:57 pm

Re: One Eye

Post by vamnuke » Wed Mar 24, 2021 1:55 am

1i

Post Reply